Write Me A Poem

She said babe if you really love me write me one of your poems

Don’t tell me your usual bullshit about not being inspired

If I can ignite your heart and your loins why not your brain too

Please don’t write me your usual sad stuff, don’t kill my character

Both your lips and the roses they taste like are red

Both my feelings and the violets I got you are blue

I know you know I have and will always be in love with you

So weave pretty words to show you also do still love me too

Make sure you put my name clearly in there too

Let everybody see your sacrifice of love is offered to my altar

I was there before all these others ever even knew of you

Most importantly,  I am here still

It took me 13 pages of crumpled paper

But think I finally have words even remotely worthy of you

I weaved the ink with strands from my heart and my brain

Please don’t take them too seriously but not too lightly either please

Both my heart and the flames bursting from them are red

Both the ink and the emotions behind them are blue

I know you know I do now and will always love you

I can never weave words as pretty as you

We will have the same name so they’ll  all know

They’ll know to which shrine i offer this libation

May we never forget that our best days were with each other

Most importantly, may we never forget to live in the present

Nana Obeng-Koranteng 2017

IG: @nanaobengkoranteng

Leave a comment